Across The Pond

This meal was inspired by the Pan Seared Walleye dish I came across at photographer/foodie Matt Wright’s blog Wrightfood. Matt is an amazing food photographer and a pretty darn good cook to boot. His site motivated me to try my own Bresoala as well… more on that later. The pictures for this meal are a little rough, due to I prepared about 95% of this meal the evening of. I learned a lot from this… Do prep work!!! I really bit off more than I could chew with this one, but it seamed to turn out tasty if not pretty. Most aspects of the meal came from Gordan Ramsey or Thomas Keller and I would recommend Keller’s Ad Hoc at home. Somehow I missed getting pics of the Roasted Butternut Squash Soup which was maybe the best looking dish. The Beef Wellington… well lets just say… it tasted good.

I emailed the menu to my best friend Johan and he brought wine to accompany the meal. Kudos to the Swede!!

So here is the meal….

 

Across the Pond

January 29, 2011 

Arrival

Butternut Squash Soup w/ Vanilla Creme,

Toasted Pumpkin Seed

08” Chateau Thieuley – Bordeaux , Sauvignon-Semillon

Coast to Coast 

Beef Wellington w/ Roasted Carrots, Mushroom Sauce

06” Mazzi Valpolicella, Plassico Superiore

Pan Seared Walleye w/ Potato Celeriac Cake, Green Pea Mash

07” L’Ecole No 41, Semillon

Bitter Sweet Departure

 Mixed Berry Clafoutis 

 

This entry was posted in On My Table. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Across The Pond

  1. Johan says:

    Thanks again for a great meal Harrison.
    The Butternut Squash Soup is what sticks out in my mind, however the whole meal was great. It was fun for us to watch the meal being prepared when there was little prep work done before hand. It was like a dinner and a show.

Leave a Reply

