English Bangers

While doing our normal Sunday grocery shopping at Findlay Market, I came across a very nice marbled piece of pork butt at Kroeger & Sons Meats. They also had some natural casings, so I could not resist buying both and bringing them home. I bought spices a few weeks earlier to make English Bangers and felt the stars had aligned for me to make them today.

**English Bangers came about during WWII when meat was being rationed in England. Additional water and filler was being added to make up volume and when the cased sausage was fried… it would BANG!!!

So this was my first attempt at English Bangers and let me tell you, there are several different recipes and versions to be found when you Google English Bangers. After looking at several recipes and getting a good idea of base, I basically came up with what I found to be the Banger recipe I liked. I deboned the pork butt, cubed into 1 inch pieces and tossed in the spices. It is very important to keep everything very cold, so I put the seasoned cubed meat in the freezer for about 30 minutes. While the pork was chillin’, I unpacked the salted casings, rinsed thoroughly and soaked in cold water. I think it helps to change out the water for fresh a couple of times before using casings to stuff.

Once the meat was completely chilled, I passed through the largest disk on my Kitchen Aid meat grinder attachment. I then chilled ground pork in freezer for about 20 minutes. The second grind was with the smallest disk on the grinder. As you may or may not know, Kitchen Aid Meat Grinders only have two sizes of disk. Following the second grind, I mixed spiced pork with the bread crumbs and chicken stock on the Kitchen Aid with the paddle. When thoroughly mixed, it went back into the fridge to chill once again. I took a small amount, make a patty, fry up on stove top and TASTE! This is when you can add spice if needed before going back to fridge and before stuffing.

This gave me time to go steal my neighbor Jeff’s cast iron Enterprise sausage stuffer. Man this thing is a beast. I lovingly call it Old Iron Sides after cranking on this thing for hours last year helping him make 100+ pounds of various venison sausage. It is solid cast iron… heavy, heavy, heavy!! This is really a 2 person rig, but I managed her alone since my wife wanted no part of stuffing sausage following her 2 hour massage. So if you want help with technique, I would suggest picking up Michael Ruhlman and David Polcyn’s book: Charcuterie. This is my go to guide for making sausage.

This entry was posted in FUR. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

