January – Duck Prosciutto

So the gals over at CharcutePalooza, Cathy and Kim, picked  Duck prosciutto for January’s meat item from Michael Rhulman’s book, Charcuterie. I was lucky enough to try some of this in Vicenza, Italy during my month-long stay there last September. It seems the Italians can dry cure most anything, including Donkey.

So the Duck prosciutto started by picking up a fat, fresh, whole duck at Luken’s Poultry, Fish & Seafood in Findlay Market. I feel you get a bigger breast by buying the whole duck, and it typically only cost a few dollars more than buying just breasts. Plus, I find butchering ducks to be just darn fun, not to mention that I will almost always use the whole duck, not to mention I will almost always use the whole duck.

The breasts, in this case, were to be dry-cured for the Duck prosciutto, the legs and thighs for confit, and the wings, bones and carcass for Duck Stock. Oh, and don’t forget the liver. Ahhh the liver. This I made into a simple Duck Liver Pate.

I prepared an entire meal for my wife and best friend Johan, his wife, and mother from this duck. His mother gets credit for most of these pictures. She is still trying to figure out how to remove the dates. lol I know… “A whole meal of duck”? What can I say, I LOVE DUCK!! Well here it is, The Whole Duck!

The Whole Duck

Amuse-bouché

Duck Liver Pate on Crustini w/ Duck Lardons

First Course

Roasted Bone Marrow w/ Parsley-Shallot Crustini

Second Course

Pear & Duck Confit Salad w/ Dijon Sherry Vinaigrette

Third Course

Duck Prosciutto w/ Porcini Risotto & Fig Balsamic

Finale

Apple Tartine w/ Vanilla Bean Gelato

This entry was posted in CharcutePalooza Item. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to January – Duck Prosciutto

  1. Wow, what a fantastic meal. I am so wanting to make the duck prosciutto, but since it’s the height of summer here and I don’t have a cool place to hang it mine is just going to have to wait a few months 😦 Have my bacon under way though 🙂
    Sue

  2. Johan says:

    The whole meal was fantastic but the Duck Liver Pate and the Duck Confit Salad stood out from the rest.

Leave a Reply

